2021 Mission Statement Scholarship Recipients

The TCU Mission Statement Scholarship honors rising seniors who have demonstrated what it means to be an educated individual, ethical leader, responsible citizen, and member of the global community.  The three recipients were selected by the Chancellor and Provost with scholarships valued at $2,000 each.

The first recipient of the Mission Statement Scholarship is Jillian Verzwyvelt.

Jillian is an Economics and Communication Studies double-major with an English minor.  She is a student in the John V. Roach Honors College and is also a member of Leaders for Life.  Jillian has served as the Historian for Economics Club, Assistant Director of Honors Ambassadors, and Freshmen Representative for Student Government Association.  She has also received the TCU Dean’s Scholarship, the Panhellenic Academic Excellence Scholarship, and belongs to the Lambda Pi Eta and National Residence Hall Honorary Honor societies.

In her application, Jillian shared that her role as an Assistant Hall Director has taught her about ethical leadership.  She shared, “If I want my team to be personable and open, I first need to set the example by being conscious of how my beliefs and behaviors can potentially influence them.  If I want to establish open communication and good relationships with them, I need to make the effort to be vulnerable myself.  Perhaps the most important thing I’ve learned is that as a leader I’m faced with many difficult decisions, but what makes me an ethical leader is how I choose to respond – with patience, adaptability, and awareness of the collective good.”

One of Jillian’s recommendation letters stated, “Jillian demonstrated critical thinking and inquisitiveness.  During class discussions, Jillian showed her ability to articulate her thoughts and standpoints with crystal clarity while being respectful of others and cautious of boundaries.  Jillian also strives to pursue the best.”


The second recipient of the Mission Statement Scholarship is Claire Fuchs.

Claire is a Political Science major with minors in Mandarin (Chinese) and French.  She is involved in Model United Nations, Pre-Law Club, and National Society of Collegiate Scholars.  She has served as President of the Arabic Cultural Society and The Net Refugee Volunteer.  Claire has also received the TCU Dean’s Scholarship, a TCU Pillar of Leadership Award, a TCU Internship Scholarship, the Pat Kelley Award, and belongs to the TCU Political Science Distinction Program and Mortar Board Honor Society.

In her application, Claire shared, “Being a global citizen requires a student to treat every soul with ethical considerations and actions, no matter the background, linguistic abilities, monetary stabilities, or skin color of the recipient.  TCU taught me the importance of meeting all individuals with an open mind and heart ready to interact and foster new connections.”

One of Claire’s recommendation letters stated, “Claire is not only an excellent and hard-working student but also a highly motivated and determined young lady, eager to learn as much as she can and perform to her best capacities.  She distinguished herself as a bright, inquisitive student, a self-starter, and a productive insightful contributor to team efforts.  Learning the Arabic language is extremely demanding and she was a straight-A student.”


The third recipient of the Mission Statement Scholarship is Brooke Grotjan.

Brooke is an Entrepreneurship and Innovation and Marketing major with a Leadership Emphasis.  She is a member of Leaders for Life, Leadership Scholars, and has served as a Frogs First Leader.  Brook is a Neeley Ambassador and Cohort Member in the BNSF Neeley Leadership Program where she has also served as the Director of Alumni Relations.  She has also served as both Senior Vice President and Vice President of Public Relations in Delta Sigma Pi Professional Business Fraternity.  Brooke is a TCU 4.0 Scholar who is on the TCU Dean’s List.  She has received a TCU Scholarship and the Stanley Black and Decker Scholarship.

On being an educated individual, Brooke wrote in her application, “Being selected for the BNSF Neeley Leadership Program has allowed me to develop the soft skills not usually taught in the classroom – personal growth and identity.  These skills are just the beginning of my story, and because of them I have been given the opportunity to start my own business, intern at the world’s top technology companies, and network with the many incredible TCU alumni.”

A recommender of Brooke’s said, “During my time at TCU, interacting with Horned Frog Alumni and traveling the world, I have had the privilege of getting to interact with an eclectic group of Horned Frogs.  I can confidently say that Brooke Grotjan stands amongst my Mount Rushmore of Horned Frogs.  TCU aims to educate individuals to think and act as ethical leaders and responsible citizens in the global community.  I believe Brook Grotjan is the epitome of this.”


A sincere thanks to all of our applicants and to each of the 2021 recipients for continuing to embody our mission statement and serve as ethical leaders and responsible citizens on campus and in the community.  TCU is truly a better place because you are here… CONGRATULATIONS!!