Wassenich Award for Mentoring

The Wassenich Award for Mentoring in the TCU Community celebrates faculty and staff members who serve as role models, advisors, and guides to students. The award is in honor of Linda & Mark Wassenich, TCU alumni whose generosity has made it possible.

The Wassenich Award for Mentoring in the TCU Community was first bestowed in 1999 and is now presented annually by the Chancellor at Fall Convocation. The nomination process is administered during the spring semester by the Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and a committee made up primarily of students, with faculty and staff representatives.  The selection committee reviews all nominations and sends a recommendation of four finalists to the Chancellor. All finalists are recognized at Convocation and receive a cash award.

Eligibility for the award is limited to active, full-time TCU faculty and staff.  Individual nominations only please; no group nominations. Nominations are encouraged from alumni as well as current students.

All nominees receive copies of their nominations and are thus honored whether or not they receive the award.

TCU is proud of its fine faculty and staff and appreciates the kindness of Linda and Mark Wassenich in making it possible to recognize and reward those who go “above and beyond” their job descriptions to make a difference in the lives of students.

Nominations for the 2020 award will be accepted January 17 – February 7, 2020.

Nominate Here

Past Recipients

1999- Darron Turner, Student Affairs
2000- Phil Hartman, College of Science & Engineering
2001- Richard Allen, Bob Schieffer College of Communication
2002- Kay Higgins, Student Affairs
2003- Peggy Watson, AddRan College of Liberal Arts
2004- John Breyer, College of Science & Engineering
2005- Nadia Lahutsky, AddRan College of Liberal Arts
2006- Carrie Zimmerman, Student Affairs
2007- John M. Thompson, Neeley School of Business
2008- Denise Bennett, College of Science & Engineering
2009- Stephen Weis, College Science & Engineering
2010- Ronald Pitcock, John V. Roach Honors College
2011- Ken Morgan, College of Science & Engineering
2012- Christopher Watts, Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences
2013- Diane Ackall Hawley, Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences
2014- Michael Chumley, College of Science & Engineering
2015- Brad Thompson, Student Affairs
2016- Eric Cox, AddRan College of Liberal Arts
2017- Zoranna Jones, Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences
2018- Jeffrey Waite, Neeley School of Business
2019- Timeka Gordon, Student Affairs


A mentor is not just a sponsor who appears at any time in the life span. A mentor is one who assists in the transition from conventions of assumed thought to the responsibilities of critical thought. A mentor recognizes and beckons forth the emerging competencies of the young adult. A mentor also serves as a beacon and bearer of images which anchor and guide the emerging promise of the young adult life. A mentor is not enough . . . nothing less than a mentoring community will do.  -Sharon Parks