Wassenich History

In 1999, TCU alumni Linda and Mark Wassenich created a fund to honor TCU faculty and staff who have made mentoring an everyday part of their lives, thus impacting individual students and the entire TCU culture.

The Wassenich Award for Mentoring in the TCU Community was first bestowed in 1999 and is now presented annually at Fall Convocation. The nomination process is administered by the Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and a committee made up primarily of students, with faculty and staff representatives.  All nominations are sent to the Chancellor, with a recommendation from the committee for four finalists. All finalists are recognized at Convocation and receive a cash award, with the recipient of the Wassenich Award introduced and awarded a larger amount.

TCU is proud of its fine faculty and staff and appreciates the kindness of Linda and Mark Wassenich in making it possible to recognize and reward those who go “above and beyond” their job descriptions to make a difference in the lives of students.

Past Recipients

1999- Darron Turner, Student Affairs
2000- Phil Hartman, College of Science & Engineering
2001- Richard Allen, Bob Schieffer College of Communication
2002- Kay Higgins, Student Affairs
2003- Peggy Watson, AddRan College of Liberal Arts
2004- John Breyer, College of Science & Engineering
2005- Nadia Lahutsky, AddRan College of Liberal Arts
2006- Carrie Zimmerman, Student Affairs
2007- John M. Thompson, Neeley School of Business
2008- Denise Bennett, College of Science & Engineering
2009- Stephen Weis, College Science & Engineering
2010- Ronald Pitcock, John V. Roach Honors College
2011- Ken Morgan, College of Science & Engineering
2012- Christopher Watts, Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences
2013- Diane Ackall Hawley, Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences
2014- Michael Chumley, College of Science & Engineering
2015- Brad Thompson, Student Affairs
2016- Eric Cox, AddRan College of Liberal Arts
2017- Zoranna Jones, Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences
2018- Jeffrey Waite, Neeley School of Business
2019- Timeka Gordon, Student Affairs


Click here to return to Wassenich home page